Prof. R. N. Echebiri,  Dean CAERSE

The College of Agricultural Economics, Rural Sociology and Extension offers degree courses in Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Extension and  Agricultural Education.

All the degree courses have high records of achievement  measured in terms of demand for our graduates in the industries and request for enrollment into various Agricultural programmes. The College courses are all geared towards innovative, positive and creative academic study. The courses are presented by well-qualified, experienced and progressive lecturers and support staff. We have a well-stocked library and good access to ICT back-up system, computers, students learning resource rooms and students advisory services.

The Departments in the College have excellent field relations in agriculture,  industry, commerce and social work. These relations are expressed in applied research, consultancy activities and wide range of professional updating courses.

Philosophy and Objectives.

Our degree programme is practical and broad enough to permit self-employment after graduation. The objective of the College is to train scientific and professional workers with competence in the analysis of socio-economic problems in agriculture at the micro and macro levels of the    economy as well as serving as vehicles for the transfer of technologies to farmers.

The mission of the College is in-tandem with that of the University providing high quality practical training to students to become professionally competent and confident farmers capable of self-employment; developing environmental friendly and people-sensitive technologies and enhancing the well being of the people through extension and other interventions.

The College concentrates on teaching and research in economic/ business management, developmental phases of agriculture and agro-allied industries as well as serves as the focal point of the University’s effort in the general areas of extension.  It has the following departments:

i)      Agricultural Economics Department

ii)    Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology Department

iii)   Agribusiness Management Department