The Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU) branch of the Senior Staff Association of Nigeria Universities (SSANU), on Tuesday, March 15th, 2022 elected new executive members, who are expected to pilot her affairs in the next four years.
In his speech when the National Team for the conduct of the elections paid a courtesy visit to the Vice-Chancellor prior to the exercise, the National President of SSANU, Mohammed Ibrahim, represented by the National Vice President, North Central, Comrade Emmanuel Ndiyongo, applauded the University Management for giving MOUAU SSANU a sense of belonging.
Comrade Ndiyongo said the national body would not relent in addressing issues relating to the welfare of her members. He promised that the Union would hold peaceful elections where eligible voters and candidates would not be disenfranchised.
The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Maduebibisi Ofo Iwe, represented by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Udo Herbert, in his welcome remarks, stated that the present administration is friendly to the Unions. The VC stressed that University Unions should be partners in progress with the Management team to salvage the University system.
While promising to provide adequate support and security for a smooth exercise, Prof. Iwe challenged the SSANU Electoral Credential Committee to follow the constitutional provisions to ensure the conduct of a peaceful, free, and fair election, for the emergence of credible officers.
Speaking before the elections, the SSANU National Vice President, Ken Njoku enjoined all electorates to vote wisely for the emergence of purposeful leaders.
In the keenly contested elections, Mr. Elvis Ogbuagu polled a total of 454 votes to emerge as Chairman, beating Chidi Lordson Efogu and Ikechukwu Azuogu who trailed with 126 and 83 votes, respectively.
Moses Chikadibia with 481 votes was elected the union’s Vice Chairman against Mr. Coker Anthony with 180 votes, while Aguku Louis beat Mr. Ekpo Christian to emerge as Secretary with 374 votes against 280.
The office of the Financial Secretary went to Ganni Ray who polled a total of 452 votes to defeat Ajuzie James with 237 votes. The position of Treasurer was won by Matthew Edeh after he polled 499 votes to defeat Ajah Vincent with 160 votes.
In other results, Seline Ilochi scored 414 votes to beat Nkiruka Charles with 242 votes for the seat of Women’s Leader, while Ugochukwu Nwaka emerged the Union’s Public Relations Officer with 457 votes, defeating his opponent, Nnadi Victor, who trailed with 195 votes. The offices of Assistant Secretary, Trustee, and Ex-officio were respectively clinched by John Njike, Nwolu Fidelis, and Lorende Aondowase Donald who emerged unopposed.
Before the commencement of elections, the Union held its 2nd Quadrennial Congress which availed the outgoing acting Chairman, the treasurer, and other executive members to give an account of their stewardship in the last four years.

Leave a Reply