An election to fill the positions of representatives of the congregation at the 7th Governing Council of the Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU), held at it’s Anyim Pius Anyim Auditorium, on Friday, has seen it’s winners. They are Prof. Anthony. A. Nlewedim who won the seat of representative of the teaching staff, and Mrs. U.O.K. Onuma, for the non teaching staff.
In the election which witnessed a huge turnout of staff voters, who defied heavy rains to exercise their franchise, Anthony A. Nlewedim, a Professor of Fish Breeding and Genetics, polled a total of 224 votes to defeat Prof. U.A.U. Onyebinama and Prof. Chukwuma O. Ofo, who garnered 177 votes and 45 votes, respectively.
Mrs. Onuma, on the other hand, scored a total of 336 votes, to beat Dr. Mrs. Esther Olechuru and Dr. Mrs. Roseline Kalu, who scored 71 votes and 41 votes, respectively.
The Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Maduebibisi Ofo Iwe, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Udo Herbert, alongside other principal officers of the institution, were among the dignitaries that participated in the election.
The two winners will represent the congregation at the 7th MOUAU Governing Council, as internal members.
Meanwhile, four Senate representatives have also been elected as internal Council members. They are, Prof. D.I. Igbokwe, Dean, College of Physical and Applied Sciences (COLPAS); Prof. Mrs. U.N. Akanwa, Dean, College of Education (COED); Prof. C.C. Ononuju from the College of Soil and Crop Sciences (CCSS); and Prof. O. I. Okoro, Dean, Postgraduate School.
The convocation of the University also has a new representative in Council. He is Dr. Oscar Obasi Igwe, who was unanimously elected as one of the internal Council members in a convocation meeting held on Saturday at the University’s ETF Hall. Dr. Obasi is the current President of the Alumni Association of the University.

Leave a Reply